Healing the Mother Wound

Healing the divine feminine, in the form of the original mother wound has been a major theme in my life for the past while. Our mother is our first human contact upon incarnation and our feelings towards her lay the blueprint for what manifests in our lives.

My journey with mother healing began when I had intensely vivid dreams about my future daughter. At the time, I felt utterly unprepared to mother a child, in the sense that my own feelings towards my mother were unresolved. How could I be a way-shower for a child of the New Earth, if I had not yet cleansed my heart of unforgiveness?

I knew that to be the Goddess Mother I dreamt of being, it was imperative to heal those feelings, practise radical forgiveness, and learn to mother myself.

Before healing the mother wound, what we feel we can receive from our mothers is what we believe we are worthy of receiving from the Universe, and Life itself. Because of issues with my mother, I had trouble accepting abundance and found myself in various situations that reflected my internal feelings of lack and emotional poverty.

My material world reflected how I felt about myself, and how worthy of receiving I felt. As my life shifted, I realized there was beauty surrounding me, and yet my mother wound was standing in the way of treasuring and experiencing it. The realization that brought this to conclusion, was that my mother may not be able to give me what I need, but that is okay, because I can get what I need in other ways, or by providing it for myself. I can receive abundantly and experience great love, even if my mother can’t give me what I want and need at this time.

I have also been counselled by the angels and goddesses to see only love in this situation, and to focus on the eternal love that lies beneath all relationships, no matter how negative they may seem.

Kundalini Yoga and the Mother Wound

Kundalini yoga has the power to clear karma when practised regularly. For deep healing, I suggest Kirtan Kriya, as well as Ancestral Healing Kriya, which are simply meditations that can be done sitting down. I found all instructions and music for these on youtube and with a google search.
As I practise these Kriya’s, I can feel my heart releasing grief and resentment from as far back as childhood. Sometimes I even start crying in the middle of the meditation! I celebrate the tears as a part of the emotional detox. I am so grateful for this wonderful practise that is helping prepare me to be a healthy and vibrant parent when the time is right.